Walk the High Street

Walk 2.1

This walk meanders down High Street from the foreshore to the District Hall.

On the left is the Junk Shop. Built in 1879 and the first owner was John Dally who operated as Pt Germain’s first General Store and Ships’ Provedore. In the 1940s the shop was bought and operated by Prests of Port Pirie.

For the last 24 years the shop has been run as the ‘Junk Shop’. This was the location for the Pt. Germein Market from 1991 – 2013. When market operations moved to its current location on the foreshore.

Discover Port Germein