Walk the High Street

Walk 2.1

This walk meanders down High Street from the foreshore to the District Hall.

On the left is the Junk Shop. Built in 1879 and the first owner was John Dally who operated as Pt Germain’s first General Store and Ships’ Provedore. In the 1940s the shop was bought and operated by Prests of Port Pirie.

For the last 24 years the shop has been run as the ‘Junk Shop’. This was the location for the Pt. Germein Market from 1991 – 2013. When market operations moved to its current location on the foreshore.

Walk 2.2

 

Across Kobenhavn Street on the same side is the Port Germein Pub. The social hub of the town.and was built in 1876.

Walk 2.4

On the right hand side of High Street at this point is the Memorial Gardens. The First

World War Memorial was unveiled by Mr. G.F. Jenkins MP in 1921. The six foot statue of a soldier was carved in Italy and shipped to Australia. The granite basement came from Monarto and the marble from Angaston. Other Memorials World War II 1939-45, Malaya 1948-66, Korea 1950-53, Borneo 1952-66, and Vietnam 1962-73.

The pine tree at the rear of the garden is propogated from The Lone Pine in Gallipoli.

A beautiful garden and ideal for quiet reflection.

Walk 2.3

 

Wandering further along High Street we find the Anchor & Plough monument which was built in 1978 and dedicated to the Seafarers and Pioneers of Port Germein and Districts to celebrate the centenary of Port Germein from 1878-1978. Built by Noel Smith with stone work by Fred Phipps, both local identities, it was unveiled by John T. Germein a descendent of Captain John Germein.

Walk 2.5

 

Next to the Memorial Gardens is the old National Bank and Manager’s House built in 1901 a fine example of a prestige business/residence of the time.

Discover Port Germein